30 Ekim 2016 Pazar

What comes to your mind when somebody talks about "witches" ? When I think about it, I have a description in my mind like most people have: an ugly woman, in her fifties, who wears dark and dirty clothes and has long nails, a big nose, grey hair etc...  We have this image from the fantastic movies like Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings. We know that there are no witches or no magic but we want to believe them while watching.
 But in the Middle Age, people were sure that hundreds of women were witches so they were burned or tortured by inquisition beacuse these women were responsible for the misfortune and they believed in Satan. The middle age was a dark period not only for women but also most of poor people and I feel very lucky that I wasn't born in the Middle Age.


2 yorum:

  1. You are right.I have always thought witches the same as you.It would be so unlucky thing to born in the Middle Age.

    YanıtlaSil
  2. People labeled what they don't understand "witchcraft" because they feared it. This was one of the disadvantages of living in that era.

    YanıtlaSil